Should I Delete My Old Emails?

Does deleting emails on iPhone delete them on computer?

IMAP allows multiple devices to access the same mailbox simultaneously, and also tells the e-mail server whether a message has been read, saved or deleted.

As a result, if you delete a message on your PC, it will automatically be deleted from your iPhone, and vice versa..

How do I delete thousands of emails in Gmail on iPhone?

On your iPhone or iPad, open the Gmail app . Select emails by tapping the circular sender’s image or letter next to each email. Tap Delete ….On a computer, open Gmail. You can’t delete all messages from the Gmail app.In the top left, check the box to select all messages on the page. … Click Delete .

Is it necessary to delete old emails?

By default, most people delete rather than archive their email. If you ask someone why they delete email, they will most likely tell you that they delete them because they want to keep their email organized and reduce mailbox clutter. While this is a valid reason for deleting emails, it’s rarely the real reason.

Do sent emails take up space?

By default, Outlook creates a copy of every email you send, including any attachments, and stores it in the Sent Items folder. These emails and any attachments are taking up your mailbox space.

Do old text messages take up storage?

When you send and receive text messages, your phone automatically stores them for safe keeping. If these texts contain images or videos, they can take up a considerable amount of space. … Both Apple and Android phones allow you to auto-delete old messages.

How do I delete thousands of emails from my iPhone?

StepsOpen the iOS Mail on the iPhone or iPad and go to the Inbox folder.Tap on the Edit Button on the top right and select the first email in your list.Then hold down the Move button.While you are still holding the Move Button, deselect the first email.Remove your fingers from the screen and wait a few seconds.More items…•

How do you delete old emails?

Basically you search for the mails and then remove them:Find mails that you want to delete: … Select the messages with the checkbox above the message list.Click on the link Select all x,xxx conversations… that appears if you have more messages than displayed on the current page.More items…•

How do you permanently delete emails?

Open the Inbox folder, select to highlight the email messages in the Inbox folder that you will delete permanently, and press the Shift + Delete keys at the same time. 2. In a pop-up warning dialog box, click the Yes button. Then all selected email messages in the Inbox folder are deleted permanently.

Are deleted emails gone forever?

“If you delete a message from your trash, it will be deleted forever from your Gmail. We do backup Gmail offline, so it may take up to 60 days to permanently delete any stored copies.” She implies messages are deleted, but didn’t explicitly say so. She said deleting them from backup could take up to 60 days.

Where does permanently deleted photos go?

When you delete pictures on Android, you can access your Photos app and go into your albums, then, scroll to the bottom and tap on “Recently Deleted.” In that photo folder, you will find all the photos you have deleted within the last 30 days. If it is more than 30 days old, your pictures will be permanently deleted.

Why do I have to delete my emails twice?

This behavior is probably the result of your email program on your local computer being set up as POP3. … You will see the emails in each place, because you’re downloading a “copy” of the email to each device. So when you delete an email on your desktop computer, it will still be on your mobile device.

Does deleting emails free up space?

Emails can take up tons of space on your Android operating system. If you keep thousands — or even hundreds — of emails around, then it’s time that you clear a significant amount of space by deleting these emails in Gmail.

Why do emails reappear after I delete them?

Deleted emails reappearing sounds like you might have some corruption going on with Inbox. … Deleted emails reappearing sounds like you might have some corruption going on with Inbox. Move all wanted emails out of Inbox and put them in a suitably named folder for storage. Delete anything you do not want.

How do I mass delete old emails in Gmail?

How to delete in bulk? – Gmail Community. Open the label (or, your Inbox, or Sent Mail, etc) containing the messages you’d like to select. Click the Select: All link above your messages. Click the link that says Select all [number] conversations in [current view].

How do I delete thousands of old emails?

Click SearchUse the master check box at the top of the page to select all the emails on that page.Now a new option is shown below that master check box: All 50 conversations on this page are selected. … Click the option to select all conversations found.Press/choose the Trash icon to delete.

Does Gmail automatically delete old emails?

Any mail that you delete from your inbox goes to your trash folder. After going to your trash folder, Gmail will automatically delete any trashed message after 30 days. The same is true for any messages your spam folder.